Home  >  TopNews
Msc_Apr23 .
you can get e-magazine links on WhatsApp. Click here
Hospitals & Clinics + Font Resize -

NABH issues notification for implementation plan of 3rd edition of the NABH SHCO accreditation standards

Shardul Nautiyal, Mumbai
Wednesday, December 28, 2022, 08:00 Hrs  [IST]

The National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare Providers (NABH) has issued notification for the implementation plan of third edition of the NABH Small Healthcare Organisation (SHCO) accreditation standards.

Entry Level SHCO means any hospital with less than 50 beds will come under SHCO category. The entry level SHCO standards have 10 chapters 41 standards and 149 objective elements.

As per the notification, all accredited SHCOs must be in full compliance with third edition by March 1, 2023 and shall submit the documentary compliance for the same by this date.

The onsite compliance shall be verified during next on-site assessment (which can be either surveillance or renewal assessment). All the assessments (Pre, Final, Renewal, Surveillance) shall be based on Third Edition with effect from March 1, 2023.

“For all the assessments before March 1, 2023, the decision shall be based on the Second Edition. However, such SHCOs would be required to comply with the Third edition in the next six months from the date of accreditation. NABH will not accept any application (New as well as Renewal) on Second Edition Standard after 31st December 2022. The whole process of transition will be completed 1st September 2024,” informed Dr Atul Mohan Kochhar, CEO, NABH.

NABH has developed a separate accreditation programme for SHCO i.e. hospitals and nursing homes or day care centres with bed strength less or equal to 50 sanctioned beds. NABH SHCO Standards are patient centered standards which offer Access, Assessment and Continuity of Care (AAC), Care of Patients (COP), Management of Medication (MOM), Patient Rights and Education (PRE) and Hospital Infection Control (HIC).

NABH Organization Centered Standards ensures Continues Quality Improvement (CQI), Responsibilities of Management (ROM), Facilities Management and Safety (FMS), Human Resource Management (HRM) and Information Management System (IMS).

Benefits of accreditation include community confidence and trust, quality of patient care and safety, roadmap for standardization, improved patient satisfaction levels, provide for continuous learning, good working environment and provide an objective system of empanelment by insurance and other third parties.


* Name :     
* Email :    
  Website :  
Copyright © 2016 Saffron Media Pvt. Ltd |