Kerala govt nominates K R Dinesh Kumar to represent Kerala in central pharmacy council

Peethaambaran Kunnathoor, ChennaiWednesday, January 3, 2018, 08:00 Hrs  [IST]

The Kerala government has nominated K R Dinesh Kumar, a pharmacist working at the government medical college hospital in Ernakulam, as the national committee member to the Pharmacy Council of India, representing Kerala.

Dinesh Kumar has been nominated under Section 3 (h) of the Pharmacy Act 1948. His  tenure is for a period of five years.  Kumar held several posts in various associations of pharmacists and other organizations including Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA). He worked as the president, the secretary and the treasurer of the Kerala Private Pharmacists Associations (KPPA) on several occasions.

Currently he is the Joint Secretary of the Kerala branch of the IPA and also the secretary of the Kerala Pharmacist Society. He is representing the government pharmacist community in the NGO union of Kerala in Ernakulam district. From the year 1995 onwards, he has been regularly attending all the IPC conferences being held in various parts of the country.

Former president of the Kerala state pharmacy council, B Rajan said this is the first time the state government has nominated a working pharmacist to the central council. Previously the members selected were from the regulatory department. According to Rajan, Dinesh Kumar is a well known pharmacist leader in Kerala and his future activities will strengthen the PCI’s efforts for the welfare of the pharmacists in the country.

On return from Chandigarh IPC, Kumar said he will try to make the state public service commissions and medical recruitment boards in various states to make Pharm D as a qualification for clinical pharmacist jobs, with the support of PCI. He has led several agitations and protest marches in Kerala and before the Parliament in New Delhi raising myriad demands of the pharmacists.